Rahul Dravid and Rohit Sharma have this desire and Mohd. Shami was not selected for the T20 World Cup roster.

On Monday, the 15-man Indian T20 World Cup roster was revealed, and fast bowler Mohd. Shami didn’t get a spot. Shami will go to Australia as a backup player, though. After all, it has been made known why Mo Shami was not included in the Indian team chosen for the T20 World Cup.

Rahul Dravid and Rohit Sharma

The Indian team management, which includes Rohit Sharma and Rahul Dravid, wanted the team to have variation in their spin assault, which worked against Shami, according to Inside Sports. Jasprit Bumrah, Harshal Patel, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, and Arshdeep Singh are the four pacers in the World Cup squad, and Hardik Pandya will serve as the team’s fifth speedster. Shami did not make the team because Rohit Sharma, the team captain, and Rahul Dravid, the team coach, believed that the summer wickets in Australia would assist spin. He thinks it’s crucial for the team’s spin offensive to be varied in these circumstances.

There was a toss between Shami and Ashwin, according to sources. Ashwin was supported by Rahul Dravid and Rohit Sharma, and the selectors were forced to comply with his demands. In addition, Ashwin has extensive experience bowling on Australian pitches, which worked in his favor. The team management also thought that because many teams include a lot of left-handed batsmen, Ashwin’s bowling might be more useful in containing Shami’s strokes than it might be. Shami will be part of the team, though, for the home series against Australia and South Africa.

The management has concerns about the fitness of Bumrah and Harshal Patel, however, according to Saba Karim, who spoke on Star Sports, and as a result, Shami was chosen for the team as a standby player. He claimed that I would have chosen Shami for the team without a doubt if I had been a selector. I would have given Shami a chance instead of Harshal Patel because I believe he can take advantage of the surface there and get early wickets.

World T20 tournament roster for Indian cricket

Virat Kohli, Hardik Pandya, R.K. Ashwin, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Rishabh Pant, Dinesh Karthik, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel, and Arshdeep Singh are the captain and vice-captain, respectively, of the team.

Mr. Shami, Shreyas Iyer, Ravi Bishnoi, and Deepak Chahar are the standby players.

Leave a Comment